Team Type 1’s Aldape is Missouri’s Mountain King

Kansas City, Mo. – Moises Aldape helped Team Type 1 stamp its authority on the Tour of Missouri Sunday by winning the Michelob Ultra King of the Mountains title.

The Mexican’s victory in the special classification capped a week that also saw Team Type 1 figure in every major breakaway and earn the Drury Hotel’s Most Aggressive Rider jersey on the second stage of the seven-day, 600-mile (965 km) race.

Team Type 1 Founder Phil Southerland said it was inspiring to watch the team whose stated mission is to inspire people around the world affected by diabetes accomplish so much against world-class competition.

“Seeing the entire team and Fabio (Calabria) rally around a common goal to get the jersey was phenomenal for Team Type 1,” Southerland said. “Having Moises on the podium every day and being in all the breakaways brought a whole new level of exposure to Team Type 1 through pro cycling.”

Calabria, a 22-year-old Australian who has had Type 1 diabetes the past nine years, became the first rider with Type 1 diabetes to finish the Tour of Missouri in its three-year history. He placed 81st, 7:18 behind overall winner David Zabriskie (Team Garmin-Slipstream). All eight riders from Team Type 1 finished Sunday’s 71-mile (114 km) stage that was won by Martin Gilbert (Planet Energy).

Aldape received some valuable assistance from his teammates to secure the King of the Mountain (KOM) crown. Darren Lill integrated himself into an early three-man breakaway to take third place on the first sprint while Aldape was fourth, and teammate Matt Wilson fifth.

On the second sprint of the race, Lill was right behind Aldape to take points away from Chris Anker Sorensen (Team Saxo Bank), who wound up second in the final KOM standings. Team Type 1’s Chris Jones then sealed the jersey for Aldape by winning the third sprint ahead of Sorensen.

Aldape smiled when he was asked whether the large contingent of Hispanic fans congregating on the city’s West End district inspired him. A large Mexican flag was also on display at one of the two KOM sprint lines.

“It was very good,” he said. “The first day of this race we attacked to get the jersey and from then on, we did everything we could to hang onto it.”

Aldape’s King of the Mountain crown is the ninth in Team Type 1 history and the fifth this season. The others this year were won by Matt Wilson (Tour of Ireland), Darren Lill (La Vuelta de Bisbee), Shawn Milne (San Dimas Stage Race) and Jesse Anthony (Tour de Taiwan).

* * *

Source: Team Type 1 press release